David was a man known for being a man after the heart of the Lord. In fact, David’s own words declared just how focused he was on experiencing the Lord’s Presence and gaining special understanding of the Lord and His ways.

Psalm 86:11-12 says, “Teach me your way, Lordthat I may rely on your faithfulness;
give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your Name. I will praise you, Lord my God, with all my heart; I will glorify your Name forever.” And, Psalm 63:1-3 David prayed, “O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water. I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory…your love is better than life.”

These words speak to many of us. From my youth I have spent much time reading, praying and praising in these two Psalms. Again and again my heart has been thirsty with spiritual desire. Like David, my soul has been painfully unsatisfied at times. My prayers continually describe how I eagerly I long for the Presence and Manifestation of the Holy Spirit.

I am convinced that there are many others like me. From the hundreds of people who continue to faithfully read this blog to the others that I hear talking in casual conversation, thousands of people are now convinced that neither religion, science, education or money will ever quench their thirsty soul.

Just as natural thirst can be the result of exertion, eating salty foods or going without water, the act of becoming spiritually thirsty can result from a personal crisis (like cancer), a financial crisis (like losing your job) or a crisis of faith (due to an educational or political experience).

True spiritual thirst should be the result of spiritual revelation. Like David, we must come to know that only the Holy Spirit’s Manifested Presence in our lives can fully refresh, support and strengthen the thirsty heart and soul. In fact, as I am writing this blog, I am reminded of an old hymn by Lanny Wolfe that said,

“The world may try to satisfy that longing in your soul.  You may search the wide world over, but you’ll be just as before.

You’ll never find true satisfaction until you’ve found the Lord, for only Jesus can satisfy your soul.
 
Only Jesus can satisfy your soul. Yes, only He can change your heart and make you whole.
He’ll give you peace you never knew, sweet joy and love and Heaven, too.
For only Jesus can satisfy your soul.”
Are you thirsty, yet?

Spiritual thirst calls for us to desire; to examine or explore; to seek earnestly; to diligently search for; to wish for;  to crave; to investigate; and to pursue the Lord and His Presence.

Being thirsty moves from wishing to acting. Thirst calls us to put action to our plans and intentions. Without thirst there is no motivation to move toward a higher level of faith and fulfillment. One doesn’t drift into discipleship and transformation of soul without choosing to do so.

Being thirsty to know the Lord must involve our whole heart, soul, mind and strength. Our relationship with the Lord must not be viewed with a lukewarm or hapless commitment. Effort must be consistently exerted. Progress can only be marked with total devotion, extreme fervor and passionate zeal.

When we are thirsty, we are internally motivated. We give, share our faith, enter fellowship, worship, pray, study, engage in world missions— not because someone is forcing to, or are manipulating us into, but because our thirst for the Lord Jesus Christ becomes our greatest desire. We then live to know, love and serve Him.

Are you thirsty, yet?

If this sounds like what is going on inside of you, I encourage you to pray these words…Dear Lord Jesus, how awesome and glorious is your dwelling place, O Lord Almighty! Your dwelling place is me! And yet, my heart and soul yearns, thirsts and even faints for more of you Lord. Lord, my heart and my flesh cry out for You. I ask you to fill me to the fullest degree. Move upon me by Your Holy Spirit. Flood and overflow me. Saturate me in my attitude, opinion, emotion, commitment, action and pursuit of You. Saturate and inebriate  me with Your Presence.

In Jesus’ Name. Amen!

Leave a Reply

